Thursday, September 30, 2010

Book Review: A Season of Gifts




By: Dawne Prochilo

Title: A Season of Gifts
Author: Richard Peck
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Recommend ?: Yes

My Review:

From Newbery Medal winning author Richard Peck comes a humorous, yet life lessons, book. Imagine, the year is 1958, you're a preteen boy, a preacher's son, an easy bully target, your family has issues and you're new in town. But alas, let's not forget you live next door to the strangest, oddest woman in town, Mrs. Dowdel.
Meet Bob Barnhart.
His boy crazed older sister, Phyllis, makes the Methodist family the center of attention with an incident involving alcohol and the 'bad boy' of the county. His younger sister mimics Mrs. Dowdel and his parents are blindsided by the events unraveling.
The book has many humorous moments including Mrs. Dowdel's love for her Winchester and a late night gourd hunt.

I highly recommend this young adult book for anyone. Even as an adult I found humor and loved the easy flow of the writing.
Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Movie Review: Alpha & Omega

By Christina Newman


Title: Alpha & Omega
Genre: Animation, Family
Run Time: 88 minutes
MPAA Rating: PG for rude humor and some mild action.
Director: Anthony Bell, Ben Gluck
Writer: Chris Denk, Steve Moore
Cast: Justin Long, Hayden Panettiere, Dennis Hopper, Danny Glover
Recommended? Yes

Synopsis:

Two young wolves from opposite ends of the pack are childhood friends. Kate is an Alpha, daughter of the pack leader and trained to hunt for the pack. Humphrey is a goofy Omega, fun loving and free spirited. Opposite ends of the pack social structure collide when the two are thrown together in the adventure of their lives. Captured and taken from their home in Jasper Park Canada and taken to Idaho in hopes of repopulating a national park they find that they need one another if they hope to return home and save their pack.

Review:
 
If you are looking for something to do with your family on a Sunday afternoon please consider visiting your local theatre. We try to plan fun things on the weekend for us to do as a family. Some days that means just making a game out of all the housework that seems to pile up throughout the week. With a family as busy as mine something as simple as a Sunday movie can mean the world.
 
After taking a gander at what was playing, watching three movie trailers and much debate the girls finally settled on Alpha & Omega. Fingers, toes, elbows, nose and everyone was in the car buckled and happily singing along with the Disney toons that were coming from our car stereo.


 
Let me tell you folks, my girls picked the right movie for our Sunday family adventure. Alpha & Omega is a mix of cute family fun and mild wit. It is a cheesy story about forbidden love and the courage it takes to stand up for what you want.

Love brings these two packs together and teaches them that no matter how different you might think you are that all are truly equal and social structure is an illusion. Once the wolves embraced the unknown, become a team and worked together they are better for it.
 
The storyline though fast paced was full of adventure, humor and beautiful scenery. Justin Long delivers his now known witty humor as well as a mild sarcastic undertone that children do not pick up on but keeps adults entertained. It was clean, crisp animation that we, the tech age, have come to expect.
 
My bottom line - Worth seeing with or without the kids.
Tuesday, September 28, 2010

DVD Review: The Black Adder Season 2



Title: Blackadder II
Written by: Richard Curtis and Rowan Atkinson
Starring: Rowan Atkinson, Tim McInnerny, and Tony Robinson
Recommended: It's not recommended, it's required!

Summary: Black Adder Season 1 took us on a journey through the end of the Middle Ages in Britian. In Blackadder II, we find ourselves in Tudor England under the reign of Elizabeth I. Edmund, Lord of Blackadder and the great-grandson of the Edmund of the first season is cunning and shrewd - very unlike his namesake from the late 1400s. The ever-present Lord Percy (Tim McInnerny) and Baldrick (Tony Robinson) are joined by Queen Elizabeth (Miranda Richardson) and her Lord Chaimberlain and Edmund's rival Lord Melchett (Stephen Fry).

Review: It must be said: this was by far my favorite of the four seasons of Black Adder. The addition of Miranda Richardson and Stephen Fry is a godsend and the humor is quicker and sharper than ever. Edmund's change into the calculating and suave man we see from this season onward was brought on by the BBC's request for improvements to the program. If you ask me, it was a good change. Every episode is crammed with witty one-liners (Baldrick: I've been in your service since I was two and a half, my lord. Blackadder: Well that is why I am so utterly sick of the sight of you.) and the play between these brilliant actors is exceedingly natural and punchy. The best part? The addition of Hugh Laurie of House fame in the last episode of this season. If your only experience with Mr. Laurie is House... you ain't seen nothin' yet!

Blackadder II is available on DVD from Amazon.com.
Saturday, September 25, 2010

Movie Review: The Other Boleyn Girl

By: Stacey Celaya

Title: The Other Boleyn Girl (2008)
Genre: Romance, History
Run Time: 115 minutes
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Director: Justin Chadwick
Writer: Peter Morgan, Phillipa Gregory (Novel)
Cast: Natalie Portman, Scarlett Johansson, Eric Bana
Recommended? Yes

Synopsis:

This is the age old story of King Henry VIII and his famous wife Anne Boleyn. Anne is ordered by her uncle to seduce the king when it was apparent that his marriage to Queen Katherine would not produce a male heir to the throne. The Boleyn men are very ambitious and see the sisters as an easy way to advance their position at court. The King visits their home and Anne goes with the men on a hunt. During the hunt Anne causes the King to be injured. While nursing the King back to health the King becomes enthralled with Anne’s sister Mary and requests that she become a Lady in Waiting for Queen Katherine making her more accessible to him.

Anne’s ego is terribly bruised and she becomes angry with sister.

Newly married Mary is ordered to ignore the vows she made to her husband and occupy the King’s bed which leaves her in love with him and with child. Complications in the pregnancy cause Mary to be bed ridden for quite some time. Worried that this will diminish the place that the Boleyn family has secured at court Mary’s sister Anne is ordered to keep the King company and keep his mind on Mary at all times.

Because Anne is more interested in making Mary pay for her what she considers a betrayal Anne sets out to seduce the King away from Mary and her child. Anne makes the King promise that he will never speak to Mary again and only then can he hope to be with Anne.

Anne of course seduces the King, influences him to obtain a divorce from Katharine of Aragon and bares his child. The child is a girl much to the disappointment of the King. Eventually Anne becomes pregnant again but miscarries. Afraid that this will push the King away forever she doesn’t tell him that she loses the baby and in a desperate attempt to get pregnant before he finds out she approaches her brother and asks him to help her get pregnant again. This is her ultimate downfall.

King Henry VIII is my favorite historical character. I love just about anything that involves him and his many wives. I am fascinated by the lengths that he would go to to be with a woman and the way some of those things altered the history forever.

Phillipa Gregory is one of my favorite historical fiction writers and her writing translated well into this movie.

Even though everyone knows the story of Henry and Anne Boleyn this version was given the added twist of Anne’s sister Mary. It’s a great story and I loved this movie! I absolutely recommend it!
Thursday, September 23, 2010

Product Review: 'Sexy Boot Jeans from The Gap'


By Pam Houghton

Product Name: Sexy Boot Jeans
Manufacturer Name: The Gap
Retail Price: $59.50 - $69.50
Where to Get It: The Gap - at either Gap stores or online
Product Description: Comfortable, trendy jeans for women
Recommended? Yes

Don't you hate it when your jeans don't fit right? Maybe they sit too far below the waist; leave a gap on your backside, thus exposing some flesh; or horror of horrors, make you look fat.

I finally found a style I like so much I have two pairs - and am ready to a buy a third: Sexy Boot Jeans from The Gap. What I like about them is the waist doesn't sit too low, giving you that creepy I'm-wearing-clothes-better-suited-to-a-12-year-old feeling; but isn't so high that you feel like you're wearing Mom Jeans either.

The jeans are tighter (but comfortably so) in the waist and thigh area, then flare out toward the ankle, providing a nice silhouette for most body shapes, especially middle-aged women trying to hide a few figure flaws. The pairs I have contain 2% Spandex that seem to accommodate my, uh, mature body type.

I like that these jeans aren't outrageously expensive, unlike 7 For All Man Kind jeans (although I hear those are to die for). The Gap jeans retail for $59.50 to $69.50 and come in several different washes: saturated dark wash, medium tint wash, and light wash.

If you are looking for a pair of flattering jeans that have both style and comfort, and don't look like they were manufactured for the Miley Cyrus crowd, try Sexy Boot Jeans from The Gap.
Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Book Review: 'The Cupcake Queen'


By: Dawne Prochilo

Title: The Cupcake Queen
Author: Heather Hepler
Publisher: Dutton Children's Books
Recommended? Yes

My Review:

Penny Lane, named in honor of the Beatles- her father is a huge fan, and her mother have moved to her mom's hometown of Hog's Hollow to open a cupcake shop. Penny, 14, isn't having a good time with the transition. She feels out of place, has already upset the school's Alpha female teenager, Charity and misses the city and her father.

Penny finds some positive aspects of small town life with her grandmother, an art studio, some new friends- Tally and Brandon and repeated run-ins with Marcus on the beach. The young man and his dog, Sam, bring new life into Penny's world.

This is a coming of age young adult book perfect for teenage and preteen girls. Emotions and feelings are explored and as Penny accepts her parent's break up, she may be about to discover her first love.

I highly recommend this book.

The Cupcake Queen is available at amazon.
Friday, September 17, 2010

Product Review: NUK/Gerber Infant Starter Bottle Set


By Alyssa Ast

Product: NUK/Gerber Infant Started Bottle Set
Manufacturer: NUK/Gerber
Features:
•BPA free
•Reduces colic
•Original orthodontic nipple helps reduce colic and promotes healthy teeth formation
•Simulates and supports breastfeeding
•Two 5-oz. bottles with slow flow silicone nipples (size 1)
•10 oz bottle with medium flow silicone nipple (size 1)
•2 silicone pacifiers (size 1)
Price: about $20.00
Recommendation? No

Review:
I have heard many mothers rave about the NUK/Gerber Bottle Starter Set because of the bottle and nipple design. I have heard it supports breastfeeding babies because of the unique nipple design. I have also heard it reduces gas, spitting up, and colic in babies because less air enters the bottle. While I don't know if any of this is true, I have found many things I do not like about the set and I now see it was a waste of money.

When my son was a newborn the nipples were to stiff and he couldn't even suck anything out of them. As he grew a couple months older, he finally had the strength to suck on them but the nipples began collapsing. While the nipples may suppost the natural shape of a mother's breast and support breast feeding, I have found the design is actually more of a hassle, making feedings more complicated than they should be. And, because of the nipple design, the bottle has to be in the babies mouth a certain way or no liquid will flow out.

The caps used on the bottle do not fit the nipple securely so the bottles leak easily. When they tip in the diaper bag, you are left with a soggy mess. Even during the feeding, the ventilation hole is in a poor place and it causes the bottle to drip, which means more laundry for you because you have to change the baby's shirt after every feeding.

The only thing I can say I am pleased about is the pacifiers. But then again, those are the only pacifies I ever use so the fact they are included in the set is the only bonus. I would recommended you stay away from these costly bottles. Your money is better spent on another product that actually works well and does cause extra work for you.
Thursday, September 16, 2010

Business Review: Kingman Cinemas

By Christina Newman



Location: 4055 N Stockton Hill Rd, Kingman, AZ 86401
Contact: (928) 692-7469
Price: $5.00 - $9.50
Recommend: yes


The movies, a favorite amongst many families. There is nothing like anxiously waiting in line while reading the movie poster over and over again. Talking with your family or friends about the previews and how great the movie is going to be.

Stepping into the building and smelling the amazing smell of popcorn, hearing laughter and excitement, selecting your movie candy and then your seats. The lights go down and a hush falls over the theatre, shhh the movie is about to begin!

Needless to say my family loves going to the movies. Brenden Theatres is our local movie cinema. They have multiple locations all over California and one in Nevada. We were lucky enough to have them move into our small(ish) town, right into our old movies building.

Brenden Theatres has four theatres and they do their best to show the latest in movie releases. The staff are nice and are willing to help you with anything you may need. They offer packages for birthdays and other celebrations as well as midnight release parties for the most anticipated movies and the latest in 3D technology.

The staff does their best to keep the theatres and restrooms clean though as well all know that can be difficult at times. I grew up right here in Kingman and I had hoped that Brenden Theatres would build a start anew. The theatre is too small to keep up with the growing population of our area. We need more theatres, more parking and a larger lobby. Stadium seating is always a wonderful choice when designing a theatre as well as more comfortable seats. The current seats are broken and uncomfortable.

My bottom line - This theatre is warm, welcoming and gets the job done but could really use an addition or a new home.
Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Product Review: Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Extra Wellness Tea


By Pam Houghton


Product Name: Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Extra Wellness Tea
Retail Price: Retails for around $4.00 for a box of 20 tea bags
Where to Get It: Most major grocery retailers; Target, Wal-mart and the like; online
Recommended? Yeah, sure. It's better than becoming a Nyquil addict.

For much of my adult life, I have suffered through bouts of insomnia. Aside from short experiments with Xanax, Excedrin PM, and Nyquil (which gave the dreaded "hangover" effect), there aren’t too many drugs I’ve been willing to try.

Which means I’m stuck with trying to get to bed at the same time every night and waking the same time every day, which experts claim is key to getting a good night’s sleep. And which I’ve found rather impossible.

Instead, when I know I’m going to need a little “help,” I make myself a cup of Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Extra Wellness Tea before I go to bed, something I found while perusing the aisles of my favorite store, Target.

The tea includes the additive valerian, which the box says has been “trusted as a sleep aid since the days of the Greeks and Romans because of its mild sedative properties.”

Does it work?

Well…maybe it’s a result of the so-called placebo effect (I think it’s going to help, therefore it does), but it seems to have a soothing effect on my brain.

Now mind you, I usually only drink it after a couple nights of insomnia, so it could very well be that I’m so dang tired a glass of water will put me to sleep. But relaxing into sleep so that you’re not squirming around like a chipmunk seems to be key in actually getting to sleep. And I do feel a little more relaxed after drinking a cup of Sleepytime tea.

Some folks might use a glass of wine to get the same effect. But since I don’t make it habit to drink – and I’m a total lightweight when it comes to prescription drugs and night time cold medicine, I find the tea a pretty good choice.

Well, that combined with a regular sleep schedule when I can get it.

Monday, September 13, 2010

Movie Review: The Back-up Plan

By: Stacey Celaya


Title: The Back-up Plan
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Run Time: 104 minutes
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Director: Alan Poul
Writer: Kate Angelo
Cast: Jennifer Lopez, Alex O’Loughlin
Recommended? Yes

Synopsis:

Zoe is a sexy, thirty-something, accomplished woman living in New York and all she wants is a baby. Tired of waiting for Mr. Right to show up she decides takes things into her own hands and execute her “back-up plan”. She visits a fertility doctor and is artificially inseminated and soon finds out she is pregnant.

Of course as luck would have it this is when she meets Stan, Mr. Right, whiling arguing over a cab. Falling in love and explaining to that person that you are already pregnant with a stranger’s baby makes for some very funny scenes; especially when that guy decides to stick around for the long haul. Mix that in with some hilarious situations involving an at home childbirth of a near stranger and some over the top exaggerations on the perils of pregnancy and you have the recipe for a pretty entertaining movie!

Two thumbs up for this great chick-flick!
Friday, September 10, 2010

Book Review: 'Phunny Stuph: Proofreading Exercises With A Sense of Humor'

by Taqiyyah Shakirah Dawud

Title: Phunny Stuph: Proofreading Exercises With A Sense of Humor
Author: M. S. Samston
Publisher: Cottonwood Press, Inc.
Recommended? For high school or intermediate-level English students.

I had heard of this book for years, but only bought it about two weeks ago, wanting to have a fun proofreading practice "workbook" on hand. As of this review date, it carries a 4.5-star rating from 7 customers on Amazon.com. From the author’s introduction I understood that it was meant for teachers to make transparencies for their students. The grade level or level of English is not mentioned in either the intro or on the back cover, so I assumed high school students would benefit. When I turned to the first exercise, I found two sections. The first was a humorous story titled “Alligators.” It was full of spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors. The next section was boxed off, with the heading “Possible Correction.” It was the same story, but with a correct version of the text.

The next page was much the same, and the next. Altogether the book contained 136 pages worth of amusing reading for students in beginning to intermediate level English classes. The errors included run-ons, missing quotations, broken sentences and more. The repetitive nature of the lessons provides plenty of practice throughout the school year. The teacher can show the first section, ask the students to provide corrections, and then show the corrected version in the book. In some cases, there is more than one way to punctuate a sentence properly, depending on how the reader believes it should be understood. These points are not highlighted in the text (the book consists of lessons only other than the introduction entitled “How to Use This Book), so the teacher would need to clarify any misunderstanding that might arise.

Overall, I would recommend the book for students, for practice, and for fun reading for youthful minds.
Thursday, September 9, 2010

Guest Book Review: Mind Maps for Business—Revolutionise your business thinking and practice (2010)

By Patricia Anne McGoldrick 


Title: Mind Maps for Business—Revolutionise your business thinking and practice (2010)
Author: Tony Buzan with Chris Griffiths
Publisher: BBC Active
Details: 254 pages, £14.99
Where to Get It: Available at Amazon.com, from $17.00 U.S.
Recommend? Yes


My Review:

Swiss army knife.

What do you visualize when you hear those words? Red and stainless steel colour, tools for every eventuality, including ingenious adaptations when in a crisis—these are a few thoughts that might come to mind.

As a writer, you can avail yourself of a tool as amazing as the Swiss Army knife that can be used in your work to plan, organize, problem solve.

Check out Mind Maps for Business(MMfB), co-authored by Tony Buzan and Chris Griffiths. As the sub-title states, the authors will proceed to enlighten you, the reader, on how to “Revolutionize your business thinking and practice”.

Whether or not you are familiar with Tony Buzan and his Mind Mapping strategy, this book provides a user-friendly introduction to Mind Mapping, in general, and its varied applications for business, in particular.

Used by companies from DeBeers to Disney, NASA, and Microsoft to the International Rugby Board, Mind Mapping is a novel approach to thinking that allows, in fact, invites creativity. As the authors point out on more than one occasion, Mind Mapping goes beyond traditional strictures of thinking. There is a freedom in placing that central theme/graphic in the middle of a blank unlined sheet of paper, poster board or computer screen, then branching out with related topics in a rainbow of colors. (p.7-9) In a colorful, explanatory diagram (See Figure 1), the Swiss Army knife is modified to illustrate the structure of a Mind Map—centrally placed knife casing with tool extensions (branches) representative of the connectivity of Buzan’s Mind Maps.

Throughout the book, the authors are consistent in providing user-friendly guidelines along with ample illustrations of actual Mind Maps used by international businesses and entrepreneurs. For first-time mind mappers, this is a plus. In addition, for beginners and experts, each chapter ends with a link to resources at www.MindMapsforBusiness.com.

As a writer, Mind Mapping works for me. Mind Mapping assists in organizing ideas and boosts creativity as I map out in different directions and colors.

Try it out. It might work for you, too!

About the Author


Patricia Anne McGoldrick writes poetry, essays, and reviews. Living in Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, Patricia has been published in the Christian Science Monitor, The Irish American Post plus several titles at http://www.chapterandverse.ca/.

Recently reviewed Handmade Books for a Healthy Planet .

W E B: P-A-McGoldrick

BLOG: PM_Poet Writer
Wednesday, September 8, 2010

DVD Review: The Black Adder Season 1

by Tiffany Jansen

Title: The Black Adder Season 1
Written by: Richard Curtis and Rowan Atkinson
Starring: Rowan Atkinson, Tim McInnerny, and Tony Robinson
Recommended: It's not recommended, it's required!

Summary: This 1983 comedy series starts off with the hapless Edmund Black Adder (Rowan Atkinson), his fool of a sidekick Lord Percy (Tim McInnerny), and his cunning yet moronic manservant Baldrick (Tony Robinson) during the final stages of the War of the Roses. Discarding what we know of history as a work of fiction concocted by the Tudor dynasty, the first season of The Black Adder explains what truly happened. Episode after episode, Edmund and his pals plot to take the crown from his father, King Richard IV (obviously not smothered in the Tower of London as a boy) who becomes king after Edmund accidentally kills Richard III.

Review: As an American, I was never really subjected to British comedy. It wasn't until I moved to the Netherlands - where the BBC is the only surefire way to ensure that all programs will be in English - that I discovered the brilliance that is Little Britain and, of course, The Black Adder.

If you're used to seeing Rowan Atkinson as Mr. Bean, this is a real treat. Not only does he speak, he barely shuts up! I personally find him funnier here than as Mr. Bean, though he still remains the simpleton as Edmund. The episodes are brilliantly written and riproaringly funny, often stepping way beyond the line of ridiculousness.

As it is a different style of humor and the characters take a bit of warming up to, the first series takes a few episodes before you really get into it. But sitting through those episodes to get to the good parts is exceedingly worth it.

My only qualm about this season is that there are only six episodes. One really can't expect  But at least there are three more seasons to follow, each even funnier than its predecessor.

The Black Adder Season 1 is available at Amazon.com.

Percy: Look, look, I just can't take the pressure of all these omens anymore!
Edmund: Percy...
Percy: No, no, really, I'm serious! Only this morning in the courtyard I saw a horse with two heads and two bodies!
Edmund: Two horses standing next to each other?
Percy: Yes, I suppose it could have been.

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Product Review: Whole Bean French Roast Eight O' Clock Coffee

Image Credit: http://www.eightoclock.com/
By Angela Atkinson

Product Name: Eight O' Clock Coffee--Whole Bean French Roast
Retail Price: Around $8 for a 12 ounce package
Where to Get It: Your Local Grocery Store, Amazon.com
Product Description:  Premium blend of 100% Arabica coffee beans fully roasted to reveal a stronger, bolder, robust taste. (From manufacturer website.)
Available in:
12 oz. bag of whole bean coffee
36 oz. bag of whole bean coffee

Recommended? Definitely.

My Review:

Before I start this review, I should tell you--I'm a coffee connoisseur. Some might even call me a coffee snob--but only those who don't know their coffee from a hole in the ground! :)

I love good coffee (and yes, I admit it--I scorn bad coffee. I would rather not have coffee than drink bad coffee.) I love coffee so much that my kitchen is decorated to resemble a coffee house. I even have an in-house espresso machine that is used pretty frequently, not to mention a high-end coffee pot and a coffee grinder that I couldn't live without. In fact, I'm proud to tell you that more than one person has come to my house and raved about the awesomeness of the coffee they were served.

You might think I'm spending a ton of cash to produce such a tasty brew, but I'm here to tell you a little secret. The coffee I use is actually pretty cheap. I buy it in the 36 ounce packages for around $14--and one of these lasts me approximately two weeks. (And I drink coffee every day--and if friends stop by, I might even make an extra pot.)

I grind the beans fresh every day--and the whole bean Eight O' Clock French Roast is the best coffee I've found for the price. Believe me, I've done my homework--tried so many different brands in search of the perfect cup of coffee that I lost count. And many times, the more expensive brands of coffee beans don't make as good of a cup of coffee as the reasonably priced Eight O'Clock variety.

Plus, if you're an espresso drinker (or if you like those fancy coffee drinks and want to save a few bucks) you can even use these beans to make your espresso. Just grind the beans a bit finer.

Overall, I give this coffee five stars and highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good, full bodied cup of coffee without the bitter taste of lower quality coffees.
Monday, September 6, 2010

Product Review: Crayola Dry Erase Crayons

By Christina Newman

Product Name: Crayola Dry Erase Crayons

Retail Price: $3.49 - $7.71

Where to Get It: Crayola, Toys R Us, Amazon 
Product Description:

Crayola Dry Erase Crayons. Great for kids. No odor, no caps to lose and won't dry out. Package includes a built in sharpener. 8 large size dry erase washable crayons. Includes a washable E-Z Erase Mitt.



Recommended? Yes

Your Review:
 
My girls attend an online virtual academy so when we set out to purchase school supplies it looks more like we are stocking up a classroom, because we are. We have a classroom, desks, tons of bookshelves and manipulatives and you got it, the BIG white board. We also have several small whiteboards that the girls keep with them at their desks and in their 'school to-go' bins.
 
Having the use of so many whiteboards means we have lots and lots of dry erase markers. Most of which have a real odor, dry out and anyone who has ever tried to write over one color with another knows that you usually end up back at white. 
 
While school shopping this year and browsing the supplies at Staples we came across the Crayola Dry Erase Crayons and I thought, if those things work half has well as crayons that could be awesome. We purchased one box and took them home. Let me tell you folks, our white board has never been so colorful! They work very well for us and the girls love them. They are extremely light weight, odor free and look great!
 
The one thing I feel that I must say is they disappear too quickly. The markers last much longer so long as you make sure you cap them. Also, they melt very easily which for us living in Arizona means they can't be put in our 'school to-go' bins druing the warmer months which is a bummer.
 
My bottom line - I think they are a wonderful tool for both work and play. Adding them to your home supplies will not be disappointing.
Friday, September 3, 2010

Product Review: OxiClean Triple Power Stain Fighter




Product: OxiClean Triple Power Stain Fighter

Manufacturer: Church & Dwight Co. Inc.

Features:


  • Safe for all colors and temperatures

  • Removes stains, brightens colors, whitens whites

  • 2x concentrated formula

Price: Varies depending on product size

Recommendation: Yes


Review:


OxiClean Triple Power Stain Fighter is a concentrated liquid that you use in combination with your usual laundry detergent to fight stains, brighten colors, and whiten whites. This OxiClean can be used as a pretreatment for heavily stained clothing or just add it to the regular wash along with you normal detergent.


The first thing I noticed about the OxiClean is you have to use a lot less than what the bottle states or you will be giving your clothes 3-4 extra rinses. I only use about a 5th of what the bottle states and it appears to be just as effective. I also noticed the clothes come out much softer than when I just use my detergent alone.


Two other factors sold me on the great features of this product. My oldest son suffers from frequent nose bleeds, which often leads to blood stained clothing. The OxiClean fully removes those blood stains, even when the stained clothing has been sitting for a couple days. And, I don't even have to pretreat them.


With a newborn in the house, that equals a ton of extra laundry. The OxiClean is the only thing I have found that completely removes the soy formula smell from the burp towels and other clothing of the baby's. It gets out the formula stains as well, which is great because I no longer have to use bleach.


While you can survive washing clothes without this OxiClean, I think if you have the few extra dollars to spend, you should. The differences I have noticed in my daily loads of laundry is night and day, and that even includes using far less than what the manufacturer recommends. So, if you have a house full of boys, OxiClean Triple Power Stain Fighter is a must!

Subscribe via email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Share It

Bookmark and Share

Search

Loading...

Get Reviewed!

Do you want The WM Review Connection to review your book, movie, product or service? Email us and we'll connect you with the reviewer of your choice.



We Disclose!

We Disclose!

Labels

127 Hours (2) 2010's best (2) 2010's Best Computer Product Review (3) 2MOS (1) 9 by design (2) A Beautiful Mind (1) A Cheerful Smoke for the Dead (1) A Pack Rat Story (1) a thousand splendid suns (2) AARON JOHNSON (1) Abundance for Life Mindfest (1) acne (1) action (1) Adventure (1) Adventures of Rusty and Ginger Fox (1) aerobed (1) Aggie Villenueva (1) airbed (1) alarm clock app review (1) Alec Baldwin (1) Alexander McQueen (1) Alice in Wonderland Review (1) All Things at Once (1) Alpha (1) Alternatives Journal (1) Alvin and the Chimpunks (1) Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel (1) Alyssa Ast (34) Alzheimer's disease (1) amanda seyfried (1) Amazon Kindle (4) Amelia Bedelia (1) American Idol (1) android phone (1) android sprint (1) Angela Atkinson (6) Angelina Jolie (2) anger (1) Animation (1) anna christiansen (3) Anne Boleyn (1) anthology (1) anti-microbial (1) Arizona (1) artificial christmas tree (1) Arts (3) Ask me no questions (1) Assumptions (1) Asus Eee PC Netbook (1) Audrey Niffenegger (1) Avatar (1) Aveeno Baby lotion (1) babies (3) Baby Bee (1) baby bottle (1) Baby carriers (1) Baby Jogger (1) baby product review (4) back pain (1) Back-up Plan (1) Badass (1) Bakery on Main (1) baking (2) Bansky (1) Barack Obama (1) Barnes and Noble membership (1) Bassinet carriers (1) BBC Active (1) BBQ (2) BBQ rub (2) beauty (8) beauty product review (11) Beauty salon (1) bedding (1) Beeswax (1) Bella (3) Bella Vi (1) Bella Vi Insane Amp (1) belly fat (1) Ben Affleck (1) best films 2010 (2) best movies of the year (1) Beth Ann Masarik (1) Betty Crocker Slow Cooker (1) beyond beautiful babe (11) birth (2) birth announcement (1) Bissell proheat (1) Bissell ProHeat 2X Deep Cleaner (1) Bitch: In Praise of Difficult Women (1) BJ's Wholesale Club (1) Black Adder (3) Black Decker (1) BLOG WRITERS (2) BLOG2PRINT (1) BLOGGER (1) bloggers (3) blossoms of the lower branches (1) Blowdryer (1) board game (1) Bone folder (1) book marketing (1) book review (82) Book Review: At Home with Handmade Books (1) Book Review: Behind The Green Glass (1) Book Review: Kaptain VAmp (1) Book Review: Lakebridge Spring (1) Book Review: Midnight Sin (1) Book Review: The Tapestry Of Love (1) Book Review: Two Moons Of Sera (1) Book Review:LS: The Beginning (1) Book reviews (19) Bookmaking (1) books (9) books on business (2) books to help your career (1) Bravo (1) bread box (1) Brenden Theatres (1) Brian Helgeland (1) brookehaven vampires (2) Brothers Grimm (1) brownies (1) bullies (1) bunk bed (1) business advice (1) Business Review (1) Caesar (1) Cairo (1) cake decorating (2) cake pan (1) camera review (2) Cameron Atkinson (1) Cameron Diaz (2) Campbell California (1) Canadian author (1) car seat covers (1) caribou (1) carpet cleaner (1) Carpet Cleaner Product Review (1) Cassandra Clare (1) cat toy (1) Cate Blanchett (1) Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize (1) catnip (1) cats (1) Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Tea (1) Cell Phone (4) Cell Phone Review (2) chapstick fresh effects (1) Charlaine Harris (2) Charles G. Timm (2) Charlie Watt (1) Charlotte Abel (1) cherry-ann carew (1) chicken (1) child product review (2) child toy product review (4) children (3) children's book review (3) Children's literature (10) children's movie review (2) childrens book review (3) Chloe Waits (1) Chris Griffiths (1) Chris Keys (1) Christina Newman (26) Christine Gatuiria (3) Cindie Miller (1) City Select (1) clarifying (1) cleaning (1) Cleopatra (1) climber (1) Clockwork Angel (1) cloth diaper (1) coffee (2) Cognitive distortion (1) color (1) colour (1) comedy (3) coming of age (1) competition (1) Computer Hardware Reviews (1) Computer Software Review (1) conditioner (1) Conditions and Diseases (1) conformism (1) Conrad J Storad (1) cookbook (3) Cornwall (1) cosco beep beep walker (1) cosmetics (3) cough syrup (1) coupons (1) courage (1) cracking the colour code (1) cradle cap (1) crafts (1) Crayola (1) Crayons (1) Crazy Love (3) create-a-scene (1) Creative Writing Now (1) crime (1) CSN stores (5) cupcake (1) D.E. Moore (4) dance (2) dancing in your bubble (1) Darcia Helle (1) Date Night (1) Dave Eggers (1) Dave Gray (1) David Morrissey (1) Dawn Kempf (1) dawne prochilo (34) Dead Until Dark (1) Delilah (1) Dell Vostro (1) Delsym (1) deluxe seat solution (1) Denise Bertacchi (4) Denzel Washington (1) dermanew (1) desert essence (1) Desert Night Shift (1) Design (1) detangling brush (1) Diabetes mellitus type 2 (1) Diaper Rash (1) dining rooms direct (2) dirt devil (1) Dirt Devil Extreme Quick Vac (1) Disney (1) documentary (2) Does This Clutter Make My Butt Look Fat (1) Does This Clutter Make My Butt Look Fat?: An Easy Plan for Losing Weight and Living More (1) double gussets (1) double jogging stroller (1) doug (1) doumentaries (1) dragon dictation (1) dragon dictation app (1) drop leaf table (1) Dry Erase Crayons (1) Dust jacket (1) DVD (1) DVD Review (7) E-book (2) easy reader (1) ebook (2) Eclipse (1) Economic (1) economics (1) educational product review (1) egg ring (1) Egypt (1) Eight O' Clock French Roast Whole Bean Coffee (1) Elaine Fischel (1) Electrolux Home Care 166DX4 Super Broom Vacuum (1) electronics review (2) Elements of the Soul (1) ELIZABETH BARD (1) Elizabeth Wurtzel (1) English Grammar (1) Entrepreneur (1) environment (1) environmentally friendly (1) Erdlander (1) Eric Bana (1) ERIK LARSON (1) Erin Healy (1) Erin Zamrzla (1) erotic (3) Exit (2) extreme quick vac (1) Eyebrow (1) ez sox (1) F. Haywood Glenn (1) facebook (2) facial (2) facial cleanser (1) facial scrub (1) family (3) Fantasia (1) fantasy (1) farm toys (1) fashion (3) fear (1) feminist (1) ferrets (1) fiction (5) Fiction Boot Camp (1) film review (1) Final Exam (1) fish (1) fitness equipment review (1) flat panel TV stand (1) Flip video camera (1) flowers (2) Food (1) Food chain (1) food product review (10) Forest Gump (1) fragrance (1) FRANCE (1) Frank Mahovlich (1) Frank's RedHot Sauce (1) Franklin Speaking Spelling Bee (1) free samples (1) freelance writer (3) Freelancer (1) FRENCH CULTURE (1) fresh cut fundraising flowers (1) Friendship (2) fun (1) fundraiser review (1) furniture (1) G. Willow Wilson (1) gadget (1) Gail Gaymer Martin (1) game review (1) GAMESTORMING (1) Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators Rulebreakers and Changemakers (1) garden (1) gardening product review (1) Garnier (2) garnier fructis style surf hair (1) gasland (1) Gatorade G2 (1) Gazelle Edge Trainer (1) GE Profile Front Load Washer (1) Genetically modified organism (1) George Clooney (1) ghosts (1) Gingerbread Cookie Murder (1) Gladiator (1) GoGo aqueez applesauce (1) gogreendiapers (1) golden griddle syrup (1) Good Hair Day (1) Gratis (1) Gretzky (1) grocery items (1) Grove Press (1) Guardian Anti-Bark Collar (1) guide (1) Guitar (1) Hair (3) hair care (5) Hair iron (2) hair product (1) hair product review (1) Hair straightening (2) Hallowe-en Read (1) Halloween (1) hammocks (1) Handmade Books (1) Hannah (1) Hardware (1) harriet carter (1) Harry Mulisch (1) Harry Potter (1) Harvestland Boneless (1) Haven Kimmel (1) HBO (2) Health (7) health and beauty (4) Heather Hepler (1) Heidi Klum (1) Henry VIII (1) Her Fearful Symmetry (1) Historical fiction (1) Historical Romance Novel (2) history (1) HISTORY BOOK REVIEW (1) Hitler (1) Hobby Craft (1) Hockey (1) Hollywood (1) holy wars (1) Home Product Review (2) household (1) household product review (6) how the fierce handle fear (1) how to lose belly fat fast (1) How to Train Your Dragon (1) HTC Evo Shift (1) humor (2) hypoallergenic (1) Ice Tea (1) Illustrator Amy Rottinger (1) Iman (1) impeachment (1) in step safari (1) IN THE GARDEN OF BEASTS (1) Inception (1) incolor lip glosses (1) inflatable bed (1) inflatable mattress (1) Insane Amp (2) Inspiration 9 (1) Intel Core (1) Intel Corporation (1) intimate (1) iPad (1) iPad Apps (3) iPhone (2) iPhone apps (3) iPod (1) Isaac Mizrahi (1) Isabella Blow (1) Island (1) It's Complicated (1) Italian (1) James Franco (2) Jane Turner (3) Janet Evanovich (2) Japan (1) Jean C Joachim (2) Jennifer Garner (1) Jennifer Lopez (1) Jennifer Weiner (1) Jesse Metcalfe (1) Jo Ramsey (1) joann martin sowles (1) Joanne Fluke (1) JoAnne Kenrick (1) Joanne Lecuyer (1) Jodi Olson (1) Jodi Picoult (1) JOHN LENNON (1) John Robbins (1) Jon Scieszka (1) Jonah Hill (1) Jorge Calderón (1) josh fox (1) Journal - Record (1) Ju Duoqui (1) Juicer (1) Juicer Review (1) Julia Baird (1) Just Food (1) Justin Bieber (1) Karl Lagerfeld (1) Katrina (1) Kay Springsteen (1) Keith Richard (1) Kelvin O'Ralph (1) Ken Haedrich (1) Kerrie McLoughlin (11) Kevin Henkes (2) khaled hosseini (2) kid stuff (5) Kingman (2) Kingman Dance Factory (1) Kitchen Basics Oil Sprayer (1) kitchen gadget (2) Kitchener Reviewer (2) Knight and Day (1) knot genie (1) Koala Climber (1) Kombucha (1) Kristin Scott Thomas (1) L'Oreal double extend mascara (1) labor and delivery (1) Laptop (1) Larry Beason (1) Larry Winget (1) laughter (1) laundry detergent (1) Laura Ast (11) Laura Levine (1) Law of Attraction (1) Lee West (1) Leonardo DiCaprio (1) Leslie Meier (1) Let the Right One In (1) leukemia (1) LG (1) LG optimus S (1) Liar's Club (1) Lifetime (1) Liliana Badd (2) Limited liability company (1) Linda Franklin (1) lip balm (1) Lipton (1) Liquid crystal display (1) Lisa McClung Photography (1) literature (5) litter box (1) Little Earthquakes (1) Little White Rabbit (1) Lombardo's (1) Longing for December (1) Loren Long (1) Lori Langille (1) Louis C.K (1) love (2) love story (1) Lua (1) lumbar (1) LUNCH IN PARIS (1) Lytro (1) M. Night Shyamalan (1) M/M (1) Macys (1) magic (1) Magic Leverage (1) magnetic toy sets (1) MAKE A BLOG BOOK (1) Maple Syrup Cookbook (1) Maria Shriver (1) Mariana (1) Marina DelVecchio (7) marinara sauce (1) Mario Kart (1) Mario Kart Nintendo 64 (1) Mario Kart Nintendo Wii (1) Mark Lester (1) Market (1) Market economy (1) marketing (1) Markets (1) marriage (1) Martha Stewart (1) Mary Karr (1) Mary Oliver (1) mascara (1) Matt Greenhalgh (1) Matthew Robinson (1) Maurice Richard (1) Maya Angelou (1) Meg Cabot (1) melissa (1) Melissa and Doug (1) memoir (3) memorial day (1) Mental Health (1) Michael Buble (1) Michael Tabman (1) Michaels (1) Mick Jagger (1) Mika Brzezinski (1) Mind Maps for Business—Revolutionise your business thinking and practice (2010) (1) miracle-gro (1) Modern Family (1) Monique O'Connor James (1) Monsanto (1) moon sand (1) Moonlit Nights (1) Motherhood (3) Motorola Droid (1) movie review (21) Movie Reviews (7) Movies (3) Movies Worst (1) Mumbai (1) music review (2) Muslim (1) Muslim Brotherhood (1) my carry potty (1) My Sister's Keeper (1) mystery (1) Nancy Balbirer (1) Natalie Porter (1) Natasha Troop (1) National Poetry Month (1) natural (1) negative review (1) Newbery author (2) Nickelodean (1) Nicola Ross (1) Nike (1) Nike+ (1) Nile (1) Nintendo WIi (1) Nixon (1) no heat hair rollers (1) Non-aerosol Oil Sprayer (1) non-fiction (4) North Carolina (1) Novel (1) Novella (2) NOWHERE BOY (1) NUK/Gerber Infant Starter Bottle Set (1) Nuremberg Trials (1) Nutrition Month (1) Nutty Cranberry Maple Granola (1) O Magazine April 2011 (1) O'Keefe's Working Hands (1) Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters (1) Officer why dont you adopt him (1) oh shit factor (1) ointment (1) Old Bear (1) Omega (1) OmmWriter Dana I (1) OmmWriter for Mac (1) Online and offline (2) online shopping (1) Oprah Winfrey (1) organic (1) organization (2) orthopedic (1) Oscars (1) Oxiclean (1) OxiClean Triple Power Stain Fighter (1) P-A-McGoldrick (7) P.A. McGoldrick (6) Pad (1) Pam Houghton (19) Pamela Rice Hahn (1) Paranormal (3) parenthood (2) parenting (3) parents (4) Paris (1) Patricia Anne McGoldrick (26) Patricia-Anne-McGoldrick (2) PAUL MCCARTNEY (1) Pavarti K. Tyler (1) Perfect Score (1) perfect storm (1) perler beads (1) pet brush (1) pet brushes (1) pet product review (4) pet products (1) Peter Walsh (1) pets (1) petsafe simply clean (1) PetSafe. pet products (1) Phunny Stuph (1) picnic (1) Pinkalicious (1) Pinkalicious Reviews (1) plant food (1) play (1) playground (1) Poetry (1) Poetry Month (1) POETS AND WRITERS 40 (1) pork (1) positive reviews (2) potty training (1) preemie. NICU (1) preemies (1) pregnancy (3) premature babies (1) premature infant (1) president (1) Princess Diaries (1) Priscilla Long (1) Product review (24) Product Reviews (1) professional cake decorating (1) Project Blissful (1) Project Runway (1) proofreading (1) psychiatry (1) publish (1) Publishing (4) PUL (1) Pureleaf (1) pureology shampoo (1) puzzle (1) puzzle game (1) Quaker Life Nutrition bars (1) quaker oats (1) quaker oats classic recipes (1) Quiet (1) Qwik Shower (1) Rachael Ray (1) radio (1) rango (1) rao's homemade marinara sauce (1) rats (1) Raymond Briggs (1) RCA digital voice recorder (1) RCA VR5220 512 MB Digital Voice Recorder (1) rebecca guevara (1) Rebecca McClanahan (1) Recommended (2) red box (1) red riding hood (1) Redken Guts Volume Spray Foam (1) reference book review (1) relationships (1) Religion (1) Restaurant Review (1) Review (5) reviews (2) Revolutionary Road (1) Richard Peck (1) Richard Yates (1) Ricky Gervais (1) Ridley Scott (1) RnB music (1) Robert A. Hastings (1) Robin Hood (1) Rolling Stones (1) romance (8) Romance Divine (1) romantic comedy (1) Romantic Novel of the Year (1) ron leighton (1) ron mclarty (1) Rosy Thornton (1) rubbabu (1) Rumor (1) running (1) Russell Crowe (1) Ruth Reichl (1) Sacrifices In The Name of Love (1) safari self-cleaning slicker brush (1) safety (1) Sam Taylor Wood (1) sarah l. melville (1) sarah porter pennington (1) Sarah Porter-Pennington (8) SATC (1) Scarlett Johanssen (1) scheduler (1) Schiffer Press (1) science fiction (1) Scotland (1) seat cushion (1) seat wedge (1) self-help (5) self-help book review (1) self-publishing (2) Selina Fugate (1) SEM (2) sensor (1) SEO (2) serial killers (1) service review (3) Sewing (1) Sex and the City 2 review (1) Sexy Boot Jeans from The Gap (1) shampoo (2) Shannen Doherty (1) shantaram (1) shark steam pocket mop (1) Sharon Poppen (1) shelia burket (1) shoes (1) Shopping (3) shopping cart cover (1) shopping for strollers (1) short story (1) Shriya Saran (1) Sidney Crosby (1) Sierra Michaels (1) Simple Singer (1) Singer (2) Sippy Cups are not for Chardonnay (1) sirius/xm satellite radio (1) Skinless Chicken Breasts (1) Skinny Ms. Slow Cooker (1) slide (1) Slow Cooker (2) small animal supplies (2) Small space container gardens (1) Small Wonder (1) Smart Alarm Pro (1) Smashwords (2) smethport (1) snow globe maker beach app (1) Snow Trucking (1) snowglobemaker.com (1) Soap opera (1) Social Media Platform (1) social network (1) sock-aid for adults (1) Sony (1) Sookie Stackhouse (2) southern vampire mysteries (1) spiral curls (1) sport product review (1) sportband (1) Sprint (1) Stacey Celaya (15) stacking train (1) starbucks (1) steak (2) Stefanie Wilder- Taylor (1) Step2 (1) Stephanie Meyer (1) Stephanie Stevens (12) Steve Pavlina (1) storage (1) stretch marks (1) Strollers (1) Sualwet (1) suburbs (1) sudoku (1) Sunni Brown (1) Sunny Days (1) super heros (1) Supernatural (1) supernaturals (1) Susan Bates Smartglo crochet hooks (1) susan beth pfeffer (1) Susan LaScala (1) Susan Roebuck (4) Susanna Kearsley (2) suspense (1) suspense novel (1) sustainability (1) Sweden (1) Sylvia Massara (1) Table of Contents (1) Tablet computer (1) Taqiyyah Shakirah Dawud (12) tea latte (1) television (2) television series (5) Tenderness (1) teri j dluznieski (1) text processor (1) The American (1) The Asking (1) The Assult (1) THE BEATLES (1) The Blue Kangaroo (It's Nice to be Different) (1) The Business of Being Born (1) The Everything Improve Your Writing Book (2) The Fashion Show (1) The Fundamentals of SEO for the Average Joe (2) the girl with the dragon tattoo (1) The Hockey News (1) The Infernal Devices (1) The Keepers (1) the kite runner (2) The Last Airbender (1) The McGraw-Hill Handbook of English Grammar and Usage (1) the memory of running (1) The Middle (1) The Mortal Instruments (1) The Other Boleyn Girl (1) The Other Boyfriend (1) The Other End of the Line (1) The Power of a Poem (1) The Renegade Writer's Query Letters that Rock (1) The Rewritten Word: How to Sculpt Literary Art no Matter the Genre (1) the roommate (1) The Rose Garden (1) The Serialist (1) The Snowman (1) The Social Network (1) The Tourist (1) The Tudors (1) The Vance Legacy (1) The Winter Sea (1) the wm review connection (15) The World Among Us (1) Theatres (1) therapeutic (1) Thermic effect of food (1) Thermogenesis (1) Tiffany Jansen (4) Tim Burton (1) Tim Gautreaux (1) Tim Ostermeyer (1) Tina Fey (1) toba garrett (1) toddler (1) toddlers (1) Tom Cruise (2) Tone and tighten (1) Tony Buzan (1) Tony Scott (1) top 3 movies (2) top films (1) toy cars (1) toys (2) train (1) training sock for children (1) trains (1) travel book (1) Travel Secrets (1) tresemme fresh start dry shampoo (1) Trish (1) True Blood (2) TV review (1) TV show review (1) Twilight (1) twilight eclipse (1) twilight saga (1) twins (1) Twitter (1) TYPEPAD (1) ugly (1) Ultimate Body Wrap (1) United States (1) Upcycling (1) Valentine's Day (1) Valkyrie (1) Vampire (1) vampires (6) Vanessa Johnson (1) Victoria Kann (1) victoria's secret (1) video camera review (1) VIRGINIA JOHNSON (1) Vogue magazine (1) volume 1 (1) W.S. Merwin (1) walking (1) Wally Lamb (1) war (1) washing machine (1) Webcam (1) Website (1) Weight Loss (3) weight loss supplements (1) West Virginia (1) When A Mullo Loves A Woman (1) Wi-Fi (1) William Morrow (1) William Morrow and Company (1) wine. Mommy Juice Wine (1) Winnie the Pooh (1) wipes (1) wm network (2) WM REVIEW CONNECTION (1) women (2) women in film (1) women in music (1) Women in the bible (1) women's fiction (1) wooden toys (1) WORDPRESS (1) Working Moms (2) Worst Movies 2010 (1) Writer (1) writer mama (1) Writer Resources (1) writer voice (1) writers (3) writing (6) WWII (3) www.newbielifeline.com (1) You're Broke Because You Want To Be (1) young adult (6) young love (1) Young-adult fiction (3) Zeitoun (1) Zelig (1) Zinio Reader 4 (1) Zippy (1)